COLA Magazine 2016!

Some of the most ardent warriors in California’s fight against
runaway production were among the honorees at the 22nd
Annual California On Location Awards (COLAs), which will took
place Sunday, November 13 at The Beverly Hilton’s famed
International Ballroom.
The COLAs recognize location managers, public employees
and other professionals who help facilitate on location
production across the Golden State.  The 2016 Awards were
presented amid a spirit of growing optimism, as results from
the first full year of the state’s expanded Film & Television Tax
Credit Program 2.0 show substantial progress in reaffirming
California’s status as the world’s production capital.
More than 500 attendees enjoyed this year’s invitation-only
awards ceremony.  Produced by the Film Liaisons in California
Statewide (FLICS), the COLAs have grown to become the
largest awards program and industry event focused on
recognizing the work of California location professionals.
This year’s awards program will also included a presentation of
the special Signature Award to California Film Commission
Executive Director Amy Lemisch.  The Signature Award is the
highest COLA honor, and is presented only when an individual
or group demonstrates extraordinary determination, spirit and
success in keeping production in California.  It was last
presented in 2014 to a team of industry professionals for their
efforts to facilitate passage of legislation to expand the state’s
tax credit program.
“No one has been a better partner and champion for filming in
California than Amy Lemisch,” said COLA Co-chair and
Imperial County Film Commissioner Charla Teeters.  “Amy has
worked tirelessly to facilitate production and ensure California
remains competitive.  She somehow manages to blend fierce
tenacity with heartfelt kindness – a combination that makes her
uniquely effective.  She is California’s best weapon in the fight
against runaway production, and we can’t think of anyone
more deserving of this award.”
The list of 2016 COLA finalists was culled from nearly 150 film,
television and commercial submissions.  Finalists and winners
are determined via a vote by members of FLICS, past COLA
winners and a steering committee of Teamsters Local 399
Award categories range from Studio and Independent Feature
Films to TV Series, Commercials, Reality and Music Videos.  
Awards are also presented in multiple Public Employee of the
Year categories.

California On Location Awards are the brainchild of
Film Commissioner Sheri Davis, who lead the Inland Empire
commission for over twenty years.

             Above: Sheri Davis and Greg Alpert, COLA Honoree
             and Location Manager Extraordinare
Janice Arrington, COLA Chair;
Amy Lemisch, California Film Commission
Executive Director; Mayor Eric Garcetti;
Charla Teeters-Stewart, COLA Chair